Hey folks!
Just a quick note: A couple months ago, Ghost launched the ability to edit the theme right within Ghost settings.
Many of us (er… at least us tech-y folks) have long maintained themes over in Github, and we use the Github actions deploy to get theme edits live on site.
Today, I discovered (too late) that one of the staff users on the site I was working on had made edits direct in Ghost. [In my defense, I asked first, but I asked the wrong member of the team, apparently!] So, when I pulled changes from GH before editing, and pushed changes back to GH (that then auto-deployed to Ghost), I inadvertently overwrote his theme edits.
So… just a heads up that if you’re deploying from Github and there’s anyone else who might have done in-Ghost edits, it’s easy to accidentally overwrite their work, and since the changes aren’t tracked anywhere, they’re just gone, as far as we could figure out today.
[Happily in this case, the person whose edits I deleted had a local copy, so all’s good here, but I’d hate for others to lose work that’d be harder to recreate.]