Ghost on shared web hosting with Node.js

Hello,

Before everything, I’m a web designer and not a programmer, so I’m not very handy with installing stuff like that on a server.

I currently have this web hosting solution that I use for hosting many websites.
My blog uses Grav but I’d like to switch to Ghost without having to pay for a VPS or something like that. My web hosting has Node.js installed, so I thought it might be possible to install Ghost on it but I’m stuck.

What I’ve done so far:

• Create a production Node.js app (version 8.14.1) on the cPanel
  • SSH into my web hosting and running source /home/<user>/nodevenv/test/8/bin/activate to enter the virtual environment
  • Download Ghost (I’ve tried with the latest version and also version 0.11.12) and unzip it
  • Rename index.js to app.js and change this in package.json

…and I don’t really know what else to do after that, because if I just run npm install, I’m having lots of errors in the command line.

For example, with version 0.11.12 (with Node.js version 6.15.1), this is what I get when I try to run npm install:

npm WARN deprecated nodemailer@0.7.1: All versions below 4.0.1 of Nodemailer are deprecated. See https://nodemailer.com/status/
npm WARN deprecated nomnom@1.5.2: Package no longer supported. Contact support@npmjs.com for more info.
npm WARN deprecated mailcomposer@0.2.12: This project is unmaintained
npm WARN deprecated mimelib@0.2.19: This project is unmaintained

> ghost@0.11.12 preinstall /home/iampoxco/nodevenv/test/6/lib
> node core/server/utils/npm/preinstall.js

module.js:478
    throw err;
    ^

Error: Cannot find module '/home/iampoxco/nodevenv/test/6/lib/core/server/utils/npm/preinstall.js'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:476:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:424:25)
    at Module.runMain (module.js:611:10)
    at run (bootstrap_node.js:394:7)
    at startup (bootstrap_node.js:160:9)
    at bootstrap_node.js:507:3