Ghost restart vs nginx restart

Hello,
I am new to using both ghost and nginx.
As far as I understand, nginx is a web server and ghost is on the top of it.
I successfully managed to set up my little blog on EC2 with extra sub domain redirections.
After each modification (mainly in /system/files, or ghost config url), I was doing a ghost restart and a sudo service nginx restart. I realized I dont understand which does what, and then before anything, if nginx is the processus listening to the web port, then what does the ghost processus even do, that would need restarting?
I would greatly appreciate a little bit of light on this, so I acquire the intuition of what should I restart in which situation.
Thank you very much in advance

Hey, so any changes made to ghost, like the url change or whatever will need a ghost restart. The only time you should need to do an nginx restart is if you are actually changing the nginx files. The nginx files are the ones that forward the traffic to your blog, typically located in /etc/nginx. Would guess you almost never need to restart this.

Basically the point of nginx is to forward traffic from your website ports (port 80 or 443) to the port your blog is listening on (default is 2368). Since port 80 and 443 need root access on the server, this prevents your Ghost blog from needing root access which increases security.

Does that make sense?

Hello David, thank you for your quick reply,
I changed files ghost/system/files/*.conf, are those part of nginx files?
It seems like I had to restart nginx after doing that, because it wasnt taking effect after just restarting ghost.
Is there an active ghost processus? What does it do exactly? How are nginx and ghost processes communicating?
Thank you!

I changed files ghost/system/files/*.conf , are those part of nginx files?

Those are ghost related files.