[Help] Trouble Redirecting Wordpress.com Blog

Hey guys!

The wonderful wide web hasn’t given me a good answer on my specific situation, so hopefully you might be my saviors.

Since starting a Ghost blog, I wanted to move some of my original content from Wordpress.com (the free version). Yes, I was a beginner, but free was free.

Basically, I’m copy-pasting all my post content to Ghost. I plan on making my Ghost blog the main source while 301 redirecting from the Wordpress blog. I’m aware of the Canonical link, but am wondering:

Should I just delete the Wordpress.com posts, or is there a way to redirect?

It seems most people mention editing a file on the self-hosted Wordpress.org. Of course, that’s not possible with Wordpress.com.

I’m also aware of all incoming traffic links. Fortunately, I didn’t have that much traffic from outside sources like Twitter, so I may just edit or delete possible links out there. Which leads me to my next question:

Does deleting the Wordpress.com post and deleting the canonical link in Ghost hurt my SEO?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. And I’m kicking myself in the rear for even posting it on Wordpress.com & Medium.

Hey @databug,

first of all, there is a WP Plugin from Ghost Ghost – WordPress plugin | WordPress.org to help you transfer your content from wordpress to your ghost blog, to save you some time copy pasting.

Second, the only thing, search engines dont like is getting a 404 response from a once existing page.

So what you want to do is copy all your posts and pages from wordpress to ghost and make sure they’re all reachable.

To make sure your old visitors still find your posts and pages on the same URL you can work with routes and redirects (both files are found in ghost admin > labs).

Regarding google, you restart googles indexing by submiting your new sitemap
See here: Ask Google to Recrawl Your Website | Google Search Central  |  Documentation  |  Google Developers