Can I "group" members to give access only to specific content?

Hello there,

I am very new to Ghost and looking into the membership feature.

Use case:
I am lecturing various university courses. Due to this I want to create specific content per course, which is only accessible to the students of the specific course.

As I am aware I can sent them an invite email to become members.
But is it somehow possible to “group” content so lets say specific content is only accessible to members of the “master class” and some only to “bachelor class”?

Thanks
Tom

1 Like

You could create a different signup page and apply a custom label to each group.

See these docs for details:

1 Like

Thank you Ryan. I will check this out. Seems like this could do the trick. :+1:

1 Like

How do you restrict content based on labels though?

Thats a good point. I assume, based on your remark, that this is not possible?
This is actually the main use case. Restricting content to different types of member categories / groups.

You could create a different membership tier for each class, then limit the content to that tier. Each tier would be free (I assume!), and would be the only ones to be able to access that class’s content.

I have not deleted a tier, but I assume you can do so.

One advantage of this would be the ability to have general-purpose pages open to all, in addition to the tier-specific content.

I don’t know of a way to limit content access using labels.

1 Like

This would sound like this exactly addresses what I need.

As you said, there is one general page content, accessible to the world. And then there would be free memberships for the various student groups. Thereby limiting access to the specific group.
Definitely try to play with this. Thank you Bruce!

Question @BruceInLouisville, do you know where I can find further information on working with tiers?

I found this doc: Create Membership Tiers