“Feature image alt text cannot be longer than 125 characters.” Why?

Hi community! :wave:t2:
I just started this year to regularly add alt text to all my uploaded media. It’s easy and it helps blind and visually impaired people to experience the internet a bit easier.

However, adding alt text to a featured image produces this odd error message. 125 characters is far too little to write a halfway reasonable description. Even on Twitter or Mastodon, 1,000 characters or more are available.

I’m not a developer but I feel like it shouldn’t be a huge hassle to fix this. Not sure what I can do about it. Would be great if someone from team Ghost could take care of it. :kissing_heart:

Cheers!
Bildschirmfoto 2022-06-16 um 15.12.02

Ideally, the alt text should be succinct, so I’ve never hit this restriction. Context, is everything, but I can’t imagine why you would want up to a thousand characters. Surely, this would interrupt the users’ reading of the post.

There’s a good guide here.

https://webaim.org/techniques/alttext/#context

1 Like

It is not at all about writing a novel and exhausting the 1000 characters. Alt text is not a caption, in this respect the reading experience should not be disturbed for people who can see, because the text appears only when you click on the image. The point is to describe what is depicted as neutrally as possible without falling into the interpretation trap.

I was able to participate in a few Twitter Spaces over the past few weeks where people with visual impairments and people who are blind described their experiences using the Internet. The tips on your linked page are good, but do not reflect the needs of blind people. In this respect, 125 characters limit is usually too little to write a meaningful alt text for blind people.

3 Likes