Opt in for a free report - then send people to a page that promotes a newsletter

Hi, I am considering using Ghost to launch a stock market newsletter. I’d like have a “free report” type optin which then adds people to the free newsletter list. From that list I can promote my paid subscription.

Can this be done with Ghost? If so, how?

Thanks

Yes, but you need to glue it together with an automation platform such as Zapier, Make or Pipedream.

I’m a certified Make developer so I’m… surprise… suggesting Make.com

The sign-up form/fields you see in themes uses Ghosts native/built-in membership management - which is really great. For sending a “free report PDF” you need to trigger the PDF-sending externally, and you need a form field for submitting the e-mail.

Here’s one way of doing this

• Create a database table with a connected form saving data to this table.
    Baserow is ideal for this, https://baserow.io/

• This form is integrated/embedded in the Ghost theme “Enter e-mail here to get PDF”

• When someone request the PDF the data is stored in Baserow DB, and
    a Make scenario is triggered.

• The scenario sends an e-mail with the PDF attached, and also registers the e-mail as a new member on your Ghost site.

• Now you can send newsletters from Ghost to your subscribers who requested the PDF and convert them to paying subscribers/members.

Many ways of implementing this depending on what you want to achieve…

2 Likes

Thank you, very helpful

Just out of interest - does anyone self-host ghost? Does it affect email deliverability?

1 Like

I have several clients self-hosting, and it does not affect deliverability as newsletters are sent using MailGun (The same service GhostPro uses) and MailGun have all the bells and whistles DMARC, SPF, DKIM.

1 Like

Is there an API function in ghost to add a user to a newsletter list?