Adding paywall to apps hosted on virtual machines

Blog URL: https://codata.ghost.io/

ive created interactive web apps that are hosted on a virtual machine on railway.com
and used iframes to put them inside my Ghost Blog in the interactive reports part of the blog above.

That said, im looking for a solution to how to paywall the apps as well any way to structure this interaction? is this even possible?

im a economist/data scientist not that well versed in web development.

thanks for the help, ghost is awesome! love the platform!

Paywall’ing public pages is not something that can be solved with Ghost, since someone can visit the apps directly without going through Ghost.

It sounds like you could use some custom development help to adapt your helps so that they are only accessible behind a paywall. That’s more complex that selling a newsletter subscription (what Ghost does) or simply selling a digital good, like a PDF, which a number of platforms do.

Your sites need a kind of authentication built-in that ingrates with some service where people can both create accounts and issue payments.

Maybe there’s some other tool that’s makes that easy, but it’s not Ghost.

first thanks for the response marko.

the ideia that i had in mind is that ghost creates a paywall for his post and has payment integration and has the login of paying and not paying user.

at the margin i could ask the user to create a login for the apps and set up a authenticatication in each one of the apps but then his experience in the website would deter significantly.

what i had in mind was trying to understand if there is a way i could use the ghost authentication to auto authencate a user in the app. In other words if there is a way to share the login info for the ghost paywall trough the backend so it autothenticates when a user tries acessing a app.

from what you said looks like thats not possible and having a separate website with the apps may be the way to go.