Customise theme with Ghost starter

I would love to be able to make customisations to the default theme using the starter pack.

I think the jump from 9 USD to 25 USD is a big lift to incorporate some basic customisations. The only other option I seem to have is self hosting which I don’t really want.

It’s a bit frustrating that I used to be able to customise the casper theme in the past but now I can’t even edit the basic casper theme and upload. Bit of fail.

I love ghost so hoping they revive this feature for the starter pack.

3 Likes

I’m Ghost user and open source fan. I don’t work for or speak for the Ghost folks. (I’m just glad they make it available!) So, I don’t know why they have it priced that way, although I’ll guess that they figure they’ll get enough folks to bump up to $25 than they lose from folks who are unhappy with what’s available at $9 but not willing to do $25. I’ve got no background in business, though, and I’m speculating.

Fortunately, Ghost is open source, and it’s a free market. There are other hosting options for Ghost besides Ghost(Pro). It might be worth a look at some of them, if the current plans don’t fit your needs? It’s not a huge marketplace, but there is a marketplace, and different companies have differences in how they price access to themes.

I can’t recommend any different managed hosting providers because I haven’t used them, but they’re out there if you look. I’m pretty happy running Ghost in my own virtual server, which gives me 100% flexibility to do whatever I want, at the cost of it being unmanaged, so I have to be my own sysadmin. If you need super cheap and are willing to trade time for money, that’s an option.