Ghost ends up using all 1GB memory of my VPS

Hello, I am kind of new to ghost, especially configuring and hosting it on my VPS. I managed to install it easily with the use of the CLI and following the guide.

• What’s your URL? My site is at chadfernandez.xyz
  • What version of Ghost are you using? I’m running Ghost 4.6.4
  • How was Ghost installed and configured? I installed Ghost in an Oracle VPS with 1 OCPU and 1 GB of memory using Ghost-CLI version: 1.17.3.
  • What Node version, database, OS & browser are you using? Node is v14.17.0, MySQL is 8.0.25, OS is Ubuntu 20.04.1, and my browser is Brave.

My problem with my site is that I am experiencing some high memory usage, with my 1GB memory VPS, after a restart, it will go and take 80% of the memory, then even it’s just me tinkering with the site, it sometimes slowly rose to 90%, then eventually end up using all the memory that the thing just broke.

I did some digging into what I can do to lower memory usage, and I tried lowering memory usage of MySQL using this guide I found. And from around 300MB, MySQL now uses 193MB max (on paper).

Then on to htop I get this

note: I scrolled down a bit since the top used by the same MySQL process, which I counted is around 40-50 times in total.

Is there a fix, or some way that I can fix this? I’m just hosting the said site, and nothing else on this VPS.

Thank you.

3 Likes

Not sure if I can really help here but I’d suggest upgrading to 2gb ram, you don’t want your site crashing when you have 10 visitors. Plus a 2gb ram server is normally 7 - 10 dollars.

swap space could be an option as well…

Yeah, good idea. Taken a break from working with Ghost. But adding a swap file helped in my case. And I was thinking of just using Ghost in this vps as a headless cms, so if the (admin) site slows down, the production site will not be affected that much.

And I’m looking to integrate Ghost with Astro.