Ghost(Pro) and Developing a Website Locally

Hello, I am new to Ghost and website development, and have found myself confused by which development tools I should be using.

Where I started:

1. I signed up for Ghost(Pro).
  2. My short-term goal is to launch a single-column blog that displays full-posts, most recent first, with ten appearing on the home page (and all subsequent index pages).
  3. My longer-term goal is to index all these blog posts by categories, tags, and publication month/year.
  4. I understand that in order to get the functionality I want, I need to edit a Ghost theme locally, and that the Casper theme is a good place to start.
  5. Following the instructions provided in the Ghost developer documentation, I successfully installed Ghost locally. I planned to use this local install in conjunction with VS Code to develop the website I wanted.

The issue that led me to question if I were on the right path:

1. When navigating to http://localhost:2368/ghost, however, I was prompted to sign-up for Ghost all over again.
  2. This sign-up is separate from the Ghost(Pro) subscription that I already have, which leads me to believe I may have difficulty reconciling the two further down the line when I am finally ready to launch my website.
  3. Searching the forums, I came across this discussion: How to bring local website to Ghost(Pro), which leads me to believe I might pursue a better/different path. In the discussion user @DavidDarnes suggested that someone having similar issues to myself instead “set it up as a GitHub repo and then use GitHub Action to automatically deploy changes to a Ghost(Pro) site.”

My questions:

1. Would it make more sense for someone in my situation to go the Github integration route to develop my website locally or to continue down the local install route I started with?
  2. If I continue down the initial route, is it possible to merge the site I build with my Ghost(Pro) subscription?