Lack of Ghost themes

It doesn’t seem very easy to find Ghost themes that are compatible with version 2 or show what versions they are compatible with and I’ve noticed that there doesn’t seem to be many new themes being made. Maybe I am just looking in the wrong places?

What are the best places you would suggest looking for free and paid themes that are compatible with the latest version of Ghost which I believe is Ghost 2.23.2

Hi John! I have noticed the same thing, so I decided to scour the internet for interesting themes which have been abandoned in v1, and update them for Ghost v2.

I’ve put up a site for this very purpose (and also to log and report my findings of useful plugins and other Ghost resources I’ve been finding.) It’s just a fun hobby site for me as I learn, but I hope others like you will also contribute as you find any interesting stuff out there!

I am not a coder (haven’t yet embraced command-line), so I am gathering and testing and reviewing from the perspective of someone who is most at home in FTP and Cpanel, and tweaking already-built themes.

Come on over!!

1 Like

@denvergeeks Link?

Interesting. I did include the link, it must have been scraped out. Maybe someone (or some bot) thought I was advertising. Its just a hobby site. ghost-o-matic dot com. Try that.

The best place to find new themes is the official Marketplace:

From a version compatibility perspective, all of the free themes are compatible with Ghost 2.0 from what I’ve checked and the same goes for most popular paid ones :wink:

So far there are 6 Free themes and 54 themes For Sale in the official Marketplace, as far as I can tell.

I suppose I could contribute some more free v2 themes as I update some older ones from v1, if adding them into the official Marketplace is a simple process??

You can submit new hemes on this page ;)

https://ghost.org/marketplace/submit/

2 Likes

And that’s only the official Marketplace, you’ll find many more at Sites like ThemeForest. :wink: