Mailgun and embedded content (images, video, audio)

Hey all, I am about to throw in the towel with regards to my issue but am hoping for any advice or suggestions before doing so :pray:.

Backstory
I use HTML to embed and format YouTube videos, SoundCloud audio clips, images/gifs for my audio blog’s articles and newsletters. The videos and audio clips are often embedded via <iframe>. I have found this allows for more flexible formatting like word wrapping and easy orientation and sizing in-line with text. I am not sure of other/potentially better options.

The Issue
Mailgun strips out a lot of this content, including images hosted on the site and embedded using <figure> which results in oddly formatted emails with missing content. The emails often look like a mess.

Mailgun’s response
I submitted a ticket to Mailgun about this and they told me to refer to ‘Sending Inline Images’ in the provided documentation: this link - (image attached below). I am relatively new to webdev and so it could be that I just don’t understand what I should be doing. I feel that this response doesn’t really resolve my issue, and that I have hit a dead end with Mailgun support.

Seeking Suggestions & Question

• I read that many email clients refuse remote content (especially when embedded via iframe) because it can be a safety concern…? This makes me feel as though I should accept that my newsletters will have shoddy formatting and just tell my e-mail readers to “click this link and read from the website”. I would like to adhere to some kind of Newsletter ‘best practice’, but not sure where to go from here.

• Does anyone have an idea for how I can include this kind of content and formatting in my newsletters which go out via Mailgun?

Hey @AmbientArtstyles,