Migrating from Wordpress not working

So, I’m trying to migrate a personal site from WordPress to Ghost. I go through the steps outlined in the migration docs: categories to tags, use the plug-in, and press the “download to ghost file.” When I upload the zip file to Ghost(Pro) I get an odd error:

, cannot fetch db

I know that I can upload the JSON, but I’ve got no programming experience and wouldn’t even know where to begin in trying to parse out the images and connect them to the correct directories. This isn’t a big site (ghost starter, so no concierge), but I’m a poor author and tight on time. Any suggestions?

1 Like

It’s probably worth opening up that zip file (which your computer can do - right click and ‘extract’ it) and see if it seems to contain your content. If it doesn’t, then the problem is in the WP export, not the Ghost import. Might narrow things down a bit…

Doing the images separately is trivial if you can download them from your WP site. The plugin makes the necessary changes to the JSON file so you don’t need to change anything. Just zip the images up in /content/images/wordpress/NNNN and upload them as you did the JSON file.

Note that ‘wordpress’ is automagically included in the JSON changes by the plugin, so you do need to make sure the directory structure and names are correct.

On wordpress the images are in year-dated directories under /wp-content/uploads/YYYY … on Ghost the corresponding structure is /content/images/wordpress/YYYY

I’ve done this recently with ~20,000 images and the separate JSON file and it worked well.

Thanks, Cathy and Fatshark, for the responses. I downloaded the JSON file, uploaded it. I got my basic text and posts, which is good.
I downloaded my images, zipped them with the corresponding structure (images/wordpress/YYYY/), and still got an error: “Request contains an unknown or unsupported file type.” (I also tried without the /).