Need help to diagnose MYSQL database issue in updating to Ghost v4, multiblog

Summary of issue:
I’m trying to update to Ghost v4. I first ran ghost update v3 to try to update to the latest v3 version. Then MySQL database appears to be down right now, but I don’t really know where to look for the problem (I have little experience)

If you aren’t running the latest version of Ghost, the first thing we will ask you to do is update to the latest version of Ghost.

• What’s your URL? [completed] (in addition, portfolio is on the same droplet and is also not accessible via web browser, comes up with 502 bad gateway
    When I run ghost ls, blog is not running and portfolio is running)
  • What version of Ghost are you using? If it’s not the latest, please update Ghost first before opening your topic. I am stuck on 3.42.3 for my blog

- How was Ghost installed and configured?
I have a multisite setup. The first blog was installed with the Digital Ocean one-click install and the second blog was installed following this site https://imaweb.dev/set-up-multiple-ghost-blogs-on-one-digital-ocean-droplet/ I am trying to update the second blog.

- What Node version, database, OS & browser are you using?

Node Version: v12.18.0
    Ghost Version: 3.42.3
    Ghost-CLI Version: 1.16.3
    Environment: production

Database version I am not sure how to check, as when I run mysql from the folder where ghost is, I have this error

ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

I am using Safari for web browser

- What errors or information do you see in the console?

Errors when I run ghost doctor:

Local MySQL install was not found or is stopped. You can ignore this if you are using a remote MySQL host.
Alternatively you could:
a) install/start MySQL locally
b) run `ghost install --db=sqlite3` to use sqlite
c) run `ghost install local` to get a development install using sqlite3.
? Continue anyway? No