Will members only post affect seo?

Hello
I read somewhere that google bots scan your site and crawl for seo…
if my blog is having member post then what should i do??

2 Likes

following…

I don’t think member posts are indexed at all, because they shouldn’t be. Iwas told so here.

Maybe set your main article as paywalled, then duplicate it and set it free with another URL…that way google will find the 2nd article and so you don’t lose out on search traffic

So your site visitors see the paywalled article, while google queries lead to your free article

Eeeh…but what would be the point then of having any article paywalled at all? If it’s freely available and findable with Google? Or am I missing something maybe, I’m not an expert here?

I am assuming there are 2 sources of traffic: search and organic…so your own crowd that knows your brand, gets your newsletters, viral forwards, etc…all those would be confronted with the paywall

someone who finds an article through search, gets to read that article for free, but as they browse the rest of your website, encounter various paywalled articles

not saying this is ideal, if they figure out that all articles are free if accessed through search, then this scheme is defeated…but it’s a reasonable solution

I’m pretty sure there are ways (beyond Ghost) for articles to be both paywalled and indexable

also, I don’t know if the new Public Preview feature of G4 means that a portion of the article can be indexed by search engines

Duplicated content?

Paywalled content is not indexed, apparently, so I would think there are no duplicate content issue.

1 Like

Hey everyone!

Google can’t crawl protected content on your page, because that’s only ever available to logged in members, but Google can crawl the page itself. That means when your member-only page is crawled, Google will only be able to take into account the logged-out, unprotected content.