Advice: Best media library for Ghost?

Hello! I am new to Ghost and wanting to set up a media library myself, with very limited coding skills. I’ve seen various forum posts where people have explained reasons for wanting a built-in Ghost media library (count me in!) - but I couldn’t find any forum posts comparing pros and cons of the existing options. I’m leading toward the free Cloudinary option or Google Drive.

I’m getting hung up on the Cloudinary instructions because from the beginning it seems you need to set an “appropriate size” (I have no idea!). I’m using the Headline theme.

Anyway, just curious if folks might share their experience with different media library options. (And if anyone has guidance on the “appropriate size” issue… but that is secondary.)

1 Like

Hi there @Berkeley_Scanner and welcome in!

I also lean toward the Cloudinary option.

I am very interested in setting up one of my Ghost sites with Cloudinary’s Media Library Widget…

Taken together, the available information seems to point toward a possibility for embedding (or popping up in a modal) my Cloudinary Media Library for use within the Ghost editor…

Here it is mentioned
(Official Ghost + Cloudinary Integration)…

1 Like

Thanks for the links. I tried to review the information on all of the above pages but honestly still have no idea where to begin. I may need to get a developer on board for this! (Or even to figure out if it’s worthwhile.) I’m used to WP and just having the media library there - who knew that was so convenient! :)

The Ghost integrations pages for both Google Drive and Cloudinary state that each one is a “heavily tested open source storage adapter which contains detailed instructions about how to configure it.” … Well, I don’t know how git, npm or any of these things work – so for me the instructions are not detailed enough by a long shot. I guess I need to go get “git for dummies” or something.

Yes I agree - it’s a lot of geeksplaining