Media Management In Ghost

Hello ghost community!

I am new to ghost and loving it quite a bit. Great UI, great code, great tools, great docs. I’m all in! Please read the following with the notion that I fully intend on spearheading the efforts behind what I am proposing here.

The only thing that I do not love is how fragrantly this app disregards storage. I completely understand the sentiment behind ghost’s decision to not implement a media manger. Y’all ALMOST changed my OCD mind that this is fine. It’s not.

There are TONS of issues, questions, bug reports all revolving around this issue. Again, I am new, so please forgive me if any of this already exists in the form of plugins, or third party options. I know there are tons of integrations out there and it seems plausible that my complaints could be addressed partially or completely in those ways.

For me; I host sites for people. My hosting plans have a cap on storage with a pay-as-you-go structure for my clients. This is a structure that I am not interested in changing. Storage is cheap, but it is not free. My clients will not enjoy being billed for media that they aren’t even aware is there.

For anyone self hosting; Migrating now requires you to transfer every piece of media you ever uploaded.

Simple example of how images can add up

1. create draft
  2. Upload test image
  3. immediately delete draft.

This image is now forever hosted on my servers with no recourse for a stock ghost install for deleting it save for manually scouring the filesystem. Yikes.

Proposed immediate breaking change:

At a minimum Ghost should aggressively delete media that is not being used when i click delete