Build comment system without the need for custom theme

Hi , I am new to Ghost. Just want to ask how is it possible to build a comment system but without the need of using custom theme. I want to stay with the starter pro plan and I cannot afford to go to the creater plan.

I read some comment system but need to modify the theme , hence will be regarded as custom theme. Still scratching my head

Adding comments necessitates a custom integration and changes to the themes post template.

thanks @mjw, so this means that there is no way to incorporate comment system without upgrading to Creator level, which is a big jump for me. Now I need to look into this under a different light

I self-host, but it looks like the entry Ghost Pro plan excludes custom integrations. Maybe a Ghost Pro user can confirm this?

It’s possible to use Disqus comments without customizing your theme.

You’d load their installation code into an HTML card in the post (or save it in a snippet).

The downside here is twofold:

• You have to add comments manually to every post (a burden somewhat alleviated by reusable snippets)
  • It doesn’t align with Disqus’ recommended configuration. The issue is that you can’t set an identifier other than the URL from the editor, so you risk ending up with split/missing threads if you change the URL. Being aware of this potential problem, it may be worth trying out, since it’s free and and you could remove the HTML cards if you don’t like it.
1 Like

thanks @TheRoyalFig again, I might give this a try and see how this goes

I found a way to add comments via code injection. It is not ideal but kind of working

I am not a coder so I have no idea what I am doing. Just followed the instruction here.

However, I cannot get the comments to appear before the footer (it appears at the bottom of the page so it is hard to notice)

See this as an example

Did you follow the steps outlined under ** How to custom configure comment dialog?: The hard way**?