Can you persuade me to move from WordPress?

Hi there!

I’m looking for some guidance as to which themes are the most reliable (i.e. likely to maintain support and be good for years to come) out there for Ghost.

I blog.

I love the Ghost themes I have seen so far. They look 2018, compared to most of the WordPress themes I have used, which look so 2000. But the functionality of Ghost themes compared to WordPress seems very 2000.

I see there are a lot of themes displayed in the Ghost Marketplace, but when I read the comments for the themes, a lot of people are asking if they can do basic stuff (stuff that the WordPress Customizer handles out of the box) and the developer is asking them to fire over a DM. It seems all very new, and reliant on either being a developer yourself or being in dialogue with the theme developer.

For example, I can’t even add Instagram to the Casper theme. Unless I go into the code, but I’m a designer and not a developer, so that’s not going to happen.

I’m really torn. Ghost themes, to me, leap out more than WordPress themes. They load faster. I love the Markdown. But WordPress is way more intuitive to use for a non-developer and so much more expandable. I get that Ghost is fixed on blogging, but the functionality I have added to my WordPress blogs is immense, with a Subscribe box below each entry and at the pre-header, recent post listings etc.

I also use Flywheel, which is managed hosting and simply sublime. It’s $15 per month (billed monthly) so Ghost is going to cost me big time if I switch (looking at Ghost Pro).

Any guidance would be great.

Thanks so much.

Jayke.

2 Likes

Created a forum account to reply to this.

Long time lurker.

Moved to Ghost in part to support the open source side, and because Medium is prone to having its moderation policies hijacked for harassment.

The support at Ghost is helpful and patient.

It is costly, and that monthly affords a single publication(last I checked)