Ghost theme translator - CLI tool to generate theme language file

Hello everyone. I am very exited to share this. :wave:

I have released a CLI tool. Using this you can auto-generate language json file.

As a Ghost theme developer, I always feel bored to copy pasting all translatable strings from all theme files to language json file.

Now i’ts easier. Once all translatable strings wrapped properly using {{t}} helper. This CLI tool can extract and generate a json file using just one command. Is not is fun?

Please try this with your theme and let me know what do you think.
BTW, this is my first ever npm package. :crossed_fingers:

If you need information/guide about {{t}} helper you can find it at this Ghost documentation page.

11 Likes

Great :slight_smile: Awesome work and time-saving CLI. I love this :heart:

1 Like

Thank you!

Wow, this is indeed a very handy thing. Good job!

1 Like

Looks good!! Thanks for sharing man :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi, I am trying to translate Dope free theme into french. I created locales with the translation file, but it says when trying to upload the translated theme :

Theme translations (located in locales/*.json ) need to be readable by the node JSON parser, or they will not be applied. ###### Affected files: * locales/fr.json : Unable to parse

Do you think your tool could help me ? Also, I do not find any plain text to wrap with the {{t}}, which I find suspect.

As far as I have checked the theme you have mentioned is not translation-ready.

By translation ready I mean the text which is there directly in the theme file are not wrapped with {{t}} helper.

For example, if you check the pagination.hbs file in the partials folder, the text “Load More” is hardcoded in the theme. To make this text translatable first you have to make it like this {{t "Load More"}} . You have to find all texts In the theme files and make those translatable.

After that this text can be translated using a language JSON file.