Ghost update - content deleted


#1

Not sure I just did something dumb but today I ran “ghost update”. The update “worked” but my content was deleted and the site was reset to default values.

Here is my ghost ls output:

┌─────────────┬────────────────────────────────────────────────┬─────────┬───────────────────────┬───────────────────────────┬──────┬─────────────────┐
│ Name        │ Location                                       │ Version │ Status                │ URL                       │ Port │ Process Manager │
├─────────────┼────────────────────────────────────────────────┼─────────┼───────────────────────┼───────────────────────────┼──────┼─────────────────┤
│ ghost-local │ /usr/local/lsws/sites/removed/public_html │ 2.6.1   │ running (development) │ https://removed.com/ │ 2369 │ local           │
└─────────────┴────────────────────────────────────────────────┴─────────┴───────────────────────┴───────────────────────────┴──────┴─────────────────┘

Also I am not sure why but when I updated ghost the port number changed from 2368 to 2369 and I had to edit my litespeed webserver config to get the site online again (otherwise 503 service unavailable error)

Please advise how the proper way I can safely update ghost on Centos to avoid this problem in the future

thanks


#2

It’s almost impossible that anything has been deleted. You were probably running in production mode before, and the site is now running in development mode - meaning Ghost is reading from a different config, and a different database.

As for why / how to config litespeed, that will need someone from the community with experience.

I can only recommend that you switch to using Ghost CLI as it was intended with nginx :slight_smile:


#3

Hi @Hannah , thanks for the reply. I’m certain it was running in development mode before I did the ghost update; however, not sure about the config file / db stuff

If you want me to run / test any other commands please let me know. This site has nothing important on it really so I don’t care if it breaks and I need to install again or whatever.

Thx again for your support


#4

This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.