How can I display all posts tagged with a specific tag on a different page to the homepage

Hi,

I am not sure if I am asking this question correctly, as I am still learning to use Ghost. I want to have a page (separate from the homepage) that displays all posts I have tagged with “terms”.

I then want to permanently hide any post tagged with “terms” from the homepage.

How can I do this?

Thanks

Mel

1 Like

There are a couple of ways to achieve this. I’ll start by suggesting the easiest method, which is to use a custom routes.yaml file. Ghost’s documentation is pretty good on this.

What you’ll want to do is go to Settings > Labs > Download current routes.yaml file.

Open that file. Under collections, you’ll find Ghost’s default collection:

/:
    permalink: /{slug}/
    template: index

You’ll want to modify that by adding another collection like this:

/:
    permalink: /{slug/
    filter: tag:-terms
  /terms/:
    permalink: /terms/{slug}/
    filter: tag:terms

(What’s happening here is that we’re filtering two collections. The first one excludes posts tagged with terms (-), and the second includes only posts tagged with terms. We’re also specifying where we want these collections to load and which template to use.

Save the file and upload it to Settings > Labs > Routes.

If everything went OK :crossed_fingers: all your posts tagged with “terms” will be hidden from the homepage and collected at yoursite.com/terms!

Two things to know:

1. YAML files are whitespace sensitive. If you get errors on upload, be sure to check your file for formatting.
  2. This won’t present all your terms posts at /terms/, but rather the limit in your theme’s config. It will automatically create a paginated route for additional posts. It’s possible to create a page that holds all terms posts, but it’s a bit more involved.

Let me know how it goes.

2 Likes

Hi,