Is Ghost the wrong choice for non-coders?

Hi,
I am a journalist looking at starting up a news site. I need something slick, professional, with good SEO and tools for monetisation. As far as I can tell Ghost is all of that, especially with the 3.0 release. However, I am not a coder, and while I’m happy to learn a few new things I will not have much time as that would take me away making my product - news.
I also need to minimise the amount I spend on tech support - but not to the point of being counterproductive. I understand some investment is required.
Ghost says on its site:

The entire platform can be modified and customised to suit your needs. It’s very powerful, but does require some knowledge of code. Ghost is not necessarily a good platform for beginners or people who just want a simple personal blog.

Is Ghost the wrong choice?
Should I use WordPress where there is a lot more material out there explaining how to do things for non-tech people like myself?
Your thoughts would would be much appreciated. I know if I get the choice of platform wrong I will suffer!
Thanks
Pete

Hi Pete, the answer to this is actually fairly straightforward. If you’re happy to use Ghost the way it works by default, then it requires absolutely no code knowledge at all, and can be setup and working within 15 minutes – it’s no more difficult than setting up a Medium account.

If you decide you want to change, adapt or customise how everything looks and works to be different from the default, well then (no matter what platform you use) things start to get more complex.

Candidly, the new monetisation tools are actively in beta - and are not yet as easy and simple to use as they will be in future. Some technical skill is required to configure a paid publication for the first release of our members and subscriptions functionality - but we’re actively improving and refining it daily.