Mailgun alternative

Is there any plan to provide alternate methods for sending emails?

Having a lot of issues with Mailgun, and additionally their high prices.

Would be nice to have more than one option.

I’m still new to Ghost, and I really like it. Have gone from zero hits to paid subscribers and a following in under a month. Still surprised by all that. The only Achilles heel is Mailgun. No idea why it’s the only one when they have such terrible service and support.

There needs a different plan. Right now I am going with Mailchimp + Zapier so there are no statistics coming into Ghost and for such a well-built platform, that just feels wrong.

If the mantra of “no bullshit” stands, then Mailgun should not be the only provider, regardless of the fact that Ghost does not benefit from this. It’s just a terrible service ruining a fantastic product.

5 Likes

apart from using mailgun, i believe it will be nice to add ses as a second option

4 Likes

Being required to use Mailgun is possibly the biggest problem with Ghost. Too many emails end up marked as spam, they no longer offer a free pricing tier, and their price plans are expensive, and their customer service is bad.

5 Likes

Mailgun has a pay as you go plan. It isn’t advertised, but you can downgrade to it at the end of your trial, and it’s super cheap.

It’s first 1000 messages/month free, then $1/1000 messages.

Aside: Do you have stats about another bulk mail provider having better deliverability? Genuinely curious. Everything I understand about bulk email delivery is that it’s hard. When I ran my first email server, 20+ years ago, it was pretty easy to turn it on and send email from it. Now? I’m glad it’s not my job.

Ultimately, the Ghost team has decided that supporting an additional email option is not a priority. You can read more about that here: Why do I have to set up Mailgun for newsletters?