I wonder why the users with contributor role are unable to see their previous posts which already has been published. Is there any reason involved to restrict them from viewing the old posts?
I can double check, but I think this is due to the permission level of Contributors. Once their post has been published they should not longer be able to edit the post as any changes they make would instantly be live on the website. You can find out more about permission levels here: