Auto-Save The Things!

#1

Today we're introducing auto-save for Ghost. From now on your posts will always be automatically saved in the background while you're writing.


This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://blog.ghost.org/auto-save/
0 Likes

#2

New posts don’t auto save.

I’m self-hosted on DigitalOcean, currently running version 2.17.1. Is this a known issue?

Sadly, I lost over 1000 words of what I wrote. :frowning_face:

0 Likes

#3

@svikashk draft posts will always auto-save, published posts need to be manually saved. There was a known bug in 2.18.2 which meant that unsaved changes could be lost when saving a setting in the post settings menu but that mostly affected published posts.

I would suggest upgrading to the latest version because 2.17.1 has other known issues with how settings are stored. It’s worth following the releases if you are self-hosting https://github.com/TryGhost/Ghost/releases

If you do experience content being lost then please let us know including as much detail as possible - was the post a draft or was it published? When did the content disappear? Were you using the post settings menu or was it whilst typing? Did you get any warning dialogs when trying to leave the editor? Do you see any errors in the web inspector console? Etc.

0 Likes

#4

Hey there, Kevin!

Thanks for getting back. I will update ghost to the latest version and be sure to keep an eye out and see if the issue comes again.

In this case, it was a draft I was working on and I didn’t have any warning dialogs. As a force of habit I also hit cmd+s, not sure if it works though.

I then came back the next day on the same tab (I put my laptop on sleep) hit refresh and the content was reverted back to my previous draft.

On the topic of updates, I remember getting a nifty notification on the top of my admin saying a new update was available. Was that removed? Cause it was really useful to keep track of the changes and update my ghost instance.

0 Likes

#5

Cmd+S should definitely be working - if you see the notification in the bottom left corner then it’s worked :+1:

I then came back the next day on the same tab (I put my laptop on sleep) hit refresh and the content was reverted back to my previous draft.

That’s very strange, normally if the content in the editor hasn’t been saved you would get an alert dialog when doing that. The only thing that I think would prevent that from working would be older content being saved from another tab or editor, in that case the local state would appear as though everything is saved but the refresh would pull in an (unknowingly) overwritten version from the server.

Definitely let us know if anything like that happens again!

I remember getting a nifty notification on the top of my admin saying a new update was available. Was that removed?

There are update notifications for major versions. We’re looking at ways we can get new minor/patch version and feature announcements available in a less annoying manner than a full-width banner at the top of the screen.

0 Likes

#6

Weird. I am positive I did not have another tab open.

Ooh, getting updates on new releases would be super helpful. Yea, it makes sense to not make them a full banner if it’s a minor update/bug fix. But would surely be nice to be notified automatically. :slight_smile:

Definitely, will keep you folks posted. Thanks for getting back to me on this one, Kevin!

0 Likes