[Casper] New blank tab when signing in from members only post

Hey,

I am using the Casper theme for my site and I have member-only posts enabled. When I try to sign in from a members-only post, then a new about:blank tab opens. The login popup also shows, but I first have to close the new tab which is quite annoying. I am a beginner in web development, but I figured that there is an extra event listener on the “Sign up” buttons and “Sign in” link. (See image below)

When I remove them the problem is fixed. Where are these event listeners generated and how can I remove the extra (index) listener you can see in the screenshot?

And

- How was Ghost installed and configured?
I am running Ghost on pikapods.com

- What Node version, database, OS & browser are you using?
Unknown (managed by pikapod), mysql8, unknown (managed by pikapod), Chrome on ChromeOS (but same happens on Firefox on Windows/Linux)

- What errors or information do you see in the console?
I do not see any error, but there is this extra event listener you can see in the screenshot or find yourself when using the link.

- What steps could someone else take to reproduce the issue you’re having?
Open the link. Use inspect element to see what event listeners are on the element.

It looks like you have a script so that all links open in a new tab, which is what’s causing the blank screen. When people click the signup link, the new tab opens.

You either have to remove this script or filter out the portal links…

<script type="text/javascript">
    var links = document.querySelectorAll('a');
    links.forEach((link) => {
        var a = new RegExp('/' + window.location.host + '/');
        if(!a.test(link.href)) {
            link.addEventListener('click', (event) => {
                event.preventDefault();
                event.stopPropagation();
                window.open(link.href, '_blank');
            });
        }
    });
</script>
1 Like

Hey Ryan,