Future of Ghost?

Hey,

As a WordPress dev I find Ghost project pretty interesting, mostly because it’s written in node.js :wink: I’m just wondering if Ghost is about to stay-as-it-is blogging-only CMS, or maybe become more susceptible to modifications just like WP? I’d love to be able some day to write my own widget or plugin for Ghost :smiley:

Thanks in advance for any info,
Kacper

1 Like

While I can’t speak for the future of the platform as a whole, I can tell you the following:

• Ghost is meant to be a publishing platform, so features are developed to meet that need. It’s not meant to be the competitor to wordpress in every single way, because wordpress does a lot. Ghost focuses on just being a simple, easy-to-use publishing platform
  • From what I’ve seen, there are plans to add extensibility to ghost (i.e. apps / plugins), but the usecase for it isn’t really clear, and the core team in the past has highlighted the importance of community feedback on what plugins / functionality are missing or desired - this is twofold - first, because (this is along the lines of what @John said in a podcast) core features (for example, SEO) should be built in - someone shouldn’t have to develop a plugin for it, and second, because it will help the team spec out the implementation
    • The new editor (Koeing) is in beta, but it’s been said there are plans to add external functionality (such as custom cards) in the future
1 Like

I also like Ghost as a platform and I think it has the potential to become a WordPress contender in the near future. It has the basic attributes of a modern CMS (IMHO), namely:

• security (built in, but can be improved, for insance I consider backup a must have, same as seo)
  • seo (including performance through page loading speed)
  • search (albeit for now via third party services, but should be in the core)
  • social (basic share and social connections, could use better comments system)