Using Issue based themes like Bulletin or Digest

Ok, I’m brand new to ghost and kind of a dummy about web/blog design in general so feel free to treat me like a child. I work as the editor of a small newsletter/journal and we are trying to port our content from a purely newsletter format (you could only find our content when it got emailed to you as a subscriber) to more of a quarterly journal hosted on its own website (which we are attempting to create with ghost). I’m looking at themes like Bulletin and Digest because it seems like these themes are split up into “Issues.” So you would think it should be easy for us to port over our old issues of the newsletter into these themes. However, despite calling them “issues,” it seems to me that these themes are really treating each post not as an issue of a publication but as an individual story or article. If I paste in an entire issue of the newsletter as a post (called an “issue” by the theme) there is then no way to differentiate the individual stories within that issue. I can’t tag them or link to them individually. Everything in that issue becomes a single piece of content that cant be sorted separately, by individual article. It seems pointless and downright wrong to call these “issues” when they have no functionality as such. Does that make sense? Am I missing something about the proper way to use these themes? Thanks for any help!!!

1 Like

Welcome to Ghost!

Ghost doesn’t have the concept of an ‘issue’ built in. Themes change how things display, not what the underlying data is. (This is different from some other software, i.e. WP, where themes & plugins can add really different data and functionality.)

So there are two options for issues: