Which editor for editing themes?

Hi there - newbie here! I’m looking for the simplest code editor to make changes to the .hbs files within a theme?

Also, what’s the easiest way for me to ‘re-zip’ a file before re-uploading?

Thanks!

Hey,

I’m probably in the minority here, but I use Adobe’s open source Brackets as my code editor, supplemented with a few plugins.

About zipping, well, right-clicking on a folder should give you the option to zip it.

2 Likes

Hi,

my personal favorite is Visual Studio Code.

It’s by far the most used code editor, free and available for windows/mac/linux.
It might look a bit complicated for “newbies”, but it’s actually really easy.
It has a huge library of plugins, to help you with formatting (really helpful to keep consistent looking files with proper indentation, autocorrection, autocompletion, notification if you missed a bracket etc.) minifying, linting and so on.
You can also connect to your server over ssh in vscode and use git which is really handy.
Definitely worth a try…

Regarding zipping: Just use you’re preferred zipping program if you don’t already have one installed in your OS anyway.

I’d recommend you to set up a local development installation of ghost, so you can load up all your theme files in your code editor, work on them (save) and then just reload the page to see your changes, and if you’re happy with your customization, zip it up and upload to your live server.

3 Likes

thx, will take a look!

and facepalm - thank you, you’re right, I can just right-click and Zip. I recall having to download some sort of program (WinZip?) to zip files, apparently we’ve come a long way since then… haha.

thank you! when I googled ‘code editors’ there were so many, I had no idea where to start.