I need help with email analytics for my newsletters?

Hi, I recently moved my Newsletter from Substack to Ghost. I love everything about Ghost except one thing…the lack of meaningful Email Analytics on the Ghost hosted platform

The Dashboard tells me nothing of any importance and I’ve not found a way to get to the data without manually looking at each Member record individually. Luckily I’m only at 700 but this is not sustainable as I continue to grow.

I asked Ghost Support and the answer was to self-host and then I would have access to the mailgun analytics.

But I’m not a techie and the thought of self-hosting fills me with dread.

I really want to build my newsletter on Ghost but, frankly, without email analytics, I don’t see that Ghost is the home for me.

Am I alone on this? Can you help me?

Many thanks, Rick

2 Likes

Hi,

Could you clarify your requirements a bit? What is your expectation from email analytics? What specific email metrics are you interested in (Cumulative/per member, opens/clicks,…) What kind of output do you need?,etc.

Mark

Hi Mark, sure. For a starter I would like to see;

• when an email is bounced because it is no longer valid
  • who has opened an email
  • who has clicked on any links (a sign that they’ve actually read it)
  • who has not opened an email
  • who has unsubscribed from an email

I dont understand why the bounceback/invalid email messages or the unsubscribed messages dont get reported as standard in Ghost so that they can be taken out.

It seems to me that this data is in the individual member records, but you can only see it by manually looking at each member individually.

I would also like to see the audit trail of all activity from email broadcasts…the Dashboard only shows the latest half dozen or so. I’m not permantently glued to my dashboard so I miss most of what’s happening.

Can you help with any of this?

2 Likes